"On this site we keep you up to date with what's going on around the Graduate School and inform you about the research activities of your fellow students." The GESS Administration


CDSE Alumni Hanno Foerster and Jan Nimczik receive young talent award of the Joachim Herz Foundation

The Joachim Herz Foundation awarded our CDSE alumni Jan Nimczik and Hanno Foerster prizes for young talents.

For his research on labor markets, Jan Nimczik has received the second award in the category “Top papers from up-and-coming scientists,” endowed with 15,000 euros.

Nimczik is particularly interested in the effects of shocks, such as company closures, on the labor market. He investigates in which companies laid-off employees find new jobs and uses the observed transitions to define the boundaries of labor markets. In contrast to existing literature, these markets are not limited to certain regions or industries. In this way, Nimczik helps capture the consequences of shocks more precisely and provide information for developing appropriate policy measures.

Jan Nimczik received his doctoratl degree from the University of Mannheim in 2017. Since 2019, he is assistant professor of economics at the European School of Management and Technology in Berlin.

For his research, Hanno Foerster has received the third award in the category “Top papers from up-and-coming scientists,” endowed with 10,000 euros.

Foerster deals with the question which influence child and spouse maintenance payments have on starting work after a divorce. He shows that significantly higher maintenance payments for children and lower payments for divorced spouses increase the willingness to start work and thus increase the benefits for society as a whole.

Hanno Foerster received his doctoral degree in 2019 from the University of Mannheim. In the same year, he became a research affiliate at the Institute of Labor Economics in Bonn and is an Assistant Professor at Boston College.

The German Business Award of the Joachim Herz Foundation is awarded every two years for outstanding interdisciplinary research in economics. It is the most valuable award for economics in Germany.